
I have a bad case of the flu. Every time I cough, my head feels like it's going to explode. But still have to be at work, cuz my patient today came all the way from N.C. to be cut on by the Penguin. So, you just got to do, what you got to do.
Anyway.... Peter got called up by both squads that played each other this weekend indoor at Fairfax. Aaaawkward. Are we supposed to feel privileged that he ended up playing with us? Aaaugh. This opponent is definitely the strongest in our league and the perennial champions. Last year, they beat us badly in the game when Carlos and Luis both were tossed. And again, during the playoff round.
This year is a different story. No one would have beaten us yesterday. Period. We were organized in defense and moved the ball superbly on offense. Our opponents didn't know what hit them, and they were down 4 nil within minutes. Kudos to Lindsay and Laura who played outstanding without subs. After raining goals on them for the entire first half, the score was 8-1 at the interval, and 12-6 final. Great job team.
There are several games left for the indoor season. We will continue our rotation system for the roster. If we get into the championship game, our roster will be determined mainly by who our opponent is. If, as I predict, del rey (our opponent from yesterday) is to face us, it would be hard not to field the same squad that beat them yesterday.
Chris sent an interesting missive to the 5-a-side tournament players with interesting thoughts regarding who should replace him since he has to pull out. As long as we are just talking in the hypothetical, I thought I would give you my take. Carlos Puyol is hurt. No help there. I wouldn't pick Gooch or Vidic as Chris suggested because their speed and height, though critical for the central defense on the big pitch, would be neutralized by the small field for the tournament. There are no break-aways or big crosses.
Boccanegra would be a great pick, if only becuase Eleonor, Jeff's girlfriend, thinks that he is the sweetest piece of arse on the planet. I bet she would hang by the Seabass bench just to watch him take off his shirt between games. That in turn would detract Jeff, so that would be hilarious.
This brings up the question: who are the most effective 5-a-side players in the world? I think, that all other qualities being equal (position sense, experience etc.), that speed, size and strength are all secondary to quickness (as distinguished from speed), and accurate passing / shooting. This is purely based on the nature of the 5-a-side game. If I could pick anyone to replace a player, I would go for Robinho, Schneijder, Xavi, or Robben.
I hope the Seabass doesn't go out and find those people to play....
No comments:
Post a Comment