Saturday, January 30, 2010

Monday Morning Report: Feb 1


This was a blagh weekend for ACDC. So, to lighten the mood, I'll post two of my all-time favorite pictures for your laughter. I'm not as sensitive as Jeff about pictorial anonymity, but please don't re-post these pictures.

These were taken on Jeff's 27th birthday, at the beach in Delaware. On the left, you can see that I am asleep (uh hm) and the boys have decided to stack furniture and junk on top of me. In my right hand is a candle. On the right, you can see that the candle is lit. (Yikes!) Even asleep (uh hm), my operating hand is as steady as ever! :) One wonders how low the candle burnt before these bozos decided to blow it out! Fortunately, I did not wake up with scorch marks.

One must learn to laugh at oneself.

Onto the game report:

On a very snowy Saturday, ACDC was pitted against team "del Ray" at Fairfax Sportsplex. We have a history with this team. It was against them that we had two players ejected two years ago. But since that game, we have beaten them once in a championship game, and again in November '09.

The roads to Fairfax were awful on Saturday, and as I took the court to start the game, here are my minute-to-minute thoughts...an internal monologue:

Whistle.....Tweet.....

Minute 1: So, I guess we're starting this game one man short, with Robb, Hannah, Lindsay and Paul. Hmm. I hope the rest of the squad is safe, and no one has spun out on the highway....

Minute 2: Man, I can't believe they have a full squad. Do they have 5 subs already? We've only got 5 total! I wonder how long we can hold them with one man down?

Minute 3: Hey, we are actually playing pretty well. Maybe we can score on them soon.

Min 4: Boy, I am getting pooped. They are fast and physical. Score on them? Maybe. But, boy, I'm getting pooped chasing after their extra guy.

Min 5: Shite. My bad. We just let in a goal. Playing from behind is not our strength. Ok, let's get this one back. Where are our people?

Min 6: Thank god. We now have a full squad on the court, but still no guy subs. Man, I am getting pooped.

Min 7: Dammit. Let in another goal. Wonder when our subs will get here. If I have to chase after them like this, it's going to be a score-fest for them. I'd better take myself out for Nicole....

End of monologue

So, two goals we gifted them as we were organizing, hoping that no one has gotten into any accidents. Halfway into the first half, we finally have a full squad with subs. It was too late. Playing a decent team with an army of subs, chasing two goals, is never easy, and we never really got to play our usual game....get into our normal rhythm.

We can blame the snow and VA DOT for not plowing 395, but kudos to "del Ray" for having a full squad from the start. ACDC can't do that because y'all will get upset sharing minutes with 11 other players. In the end, we have to accept the defeat and breathe a sigh of relief that no one spun out on the highway.

The Sunday futsal game was cancelled.

(pause)

Say what?

Yes, cancelled....on a beautiful, sunny, lazy Sunday.....

I really wish it were the other way 'round...and they had cancelled on Saturday.

More fun n' games next week. Happy Hour on Friday unless major weather events intervene....again. Have a great week.

No comments:

Post a Comment