Another rainy day game, with a wet quick field, against a team which we've had run ins with the past (ask Brian or Alex about their injuries against this squad). We started out strong, controlling the game and putting on pressure, but were unable to score. And unfortunately, we paid the price for not capitalizing on our early opportunities and conceded two goals in the first half from quick counters.
In the second half, we again conceded a goal from a fast forward pushing our line when our offsides trap was beaten. But we didn't give up and battled back, even down 3 with under 20 minutes left. Paul got our first goal and then two strikes from Mumbles at the very end left us tied.
All in all, I think we all had mixed reactions at this game. On one hand, we largely controlled the game and it was encouraging that we kept fighting and were able to comeback even from a three goal deficit. I think everyone agrees that if we had 5 more minutes, we could have scored a go ahead goal.
But we didn't have an extra 5 minutes, and there were several areas for us to improve on. First, we need to play with more urgency at the beginning of games, especially when the other team has players trickling in. Second, we need improve our defense. We have to have everyone working as a unit, so that outside defenders are either pulling attackers offside or slotting in the center and dropping as a back up to the other defenders.
Our next game will against my old team, so lets come out and play like we did in the last 20 minutes of Saturday. Vae Vicits!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
Blog Archive
-
▼
2009
(76)
-
▼
November
(9)
- Monday Morning Report: Nov 30
- Monday Morning Report: Nov 23
- Novemberfest explained: behind the scenes
- Monday Morning Report: Nov 16
- Monday Morning Report: Nov 9
- Congratulations to...
- Monday Morning Report Mens: November 2- Beyond the...
- Monday Morning Report Co-Ed: November 2 - Boogie t...
- Manager's comments: Nov 2
-
▼
November
(9)
WTF is an aybiss! Is that like a mutant seabass from Illinois? Jeffy, do you mean Abyss?
ReplyDelete