
- indoor report
- video review at FIFA world cup
- annual "biggest turkey" award
- another new baby
On Saturday, we played well against them once again. Our defense was well-organized and the offense capitalized on the chances that we created. We won the game 3-2, but we are expecting strong challenges from them when we play them again. If we continue to play as organized as we did in the first half on Saturday, we may well be un-defeatable this season (there, I've said it).
Have y'all been following the controversial game played last week between France and Ireland? If not, here's a brief re-cap. The 2 national teams had to play a 2-leg playoff for a berth at the World Cup in June. For these 2 nations with strong footballing traditions, this is a huge deal. France won the 1st leg 1-0 on an away goal, and Ireland scored in Paris in the 1st half of the return leg. The second-half in Paris was one of the most exciting 45 minutes of football I've watched. The stakes were so high.
The half was scoreless, so they went into OT. In the 1st half of OT was when the major controversial goal happened. France had free kick. When the ball was struck, Thierry Henry was offsides. No call. The ball landed near him, and he handled the ball to make it stay inbound, and then flicked it to Gallas, who headed it into the net. The ref gave the goal.
Henry didn't celebrate the goal. All 11 Irish players rushed the ref and protested. Nevertheless, the goal stood and France went through. So, the great questions were:
- Did FIFA pay off the refs to let France through because...hey....it's France man!
- Should Henry was condemned as a cheat?
- Should FIFA grant the FAI (Irish federation) the request to re-play the game?
- Should there be instant replay in football?
The world press has been all over these topics all last week. My friends have been bombarding me personally because Henry was formerly Arsenal and my idol. He admitted to the Irish players immediately after the game that it was handball, but didn't ask the refs to nullify the goal. The bottom line is, it's the ref's fault for not calling the handball and offsides. If any of you want to fault Henry, ask yourself what you would do if you scored a controversial goal. Here's what Arseblogger wrote last week:
And caught in the barrage is Thierry Henry who was wrong and who cheated but did nothing that footballers don't do in every game. He sought an advantage by breaking the rules and that happens every week from claiming throw ins which aren't yours, making fouls, pulling jerseys, diving and countless other actions intended to put yourself in a position to win the game. Not all of them are pretty, some of them more costly than others, but what's great about football is shit happens to you one week, it happens to someone else the next. Ireland got the shitty end of the stick this time but not many Ireland fans complained when we got a penalty in Georgia which wasn't a penalty.
And there's the rub. Everyone "cheats" to varying degrees to gain an advantage. I'd freely admit that when a big opponent so much as nudges me, I go flying off to claim the foul. Worked well on Saturday! You get the calls sometimes, and at others, your opponents do. It all evens out.
As to instant replay, I think it's inevitable. As Arsene Wenger said, you can't have everyone at home (in the world) seeing that there's a problem, and have the refs be the only three people blinded to that information. The application of the technology must be well thought out, however. Its implementation in June in South Africa is unrealistic.
As to the FAI and the Irish government (!) petitioning for a re-play of the game, taking it as far as President Nicolas Sarkozy, well, that's just ridiculous.
OK, it's turkey week, so it's time for the annual "biggest turkey" award. As you may recall, last year, it went to George. Let's not re-live the reason. This year, there are several candidates, what with all the red cards and IHOP moments. But we decided to give it to the planners of the Cherry Blossom Tournament. No, the rain out/cancellations (X2 !!!) were not their fault per se, but their pre-tournament bravado ("we'll play with 1" of standing water....don't worry...") is what earned them the award. Good grief. That cost us a great deal of headache, not to mention a forfeited men's team game!
Finally, we have another addition to the ACDC family. Graeme Ramshaw, and wife Mandi, had their little girl, Ela, on Saturday morning in Brighton UK. Everyone is healthy and happy. Please send them your love, and look at the facebook pictures. Gee, what is up with all these new dads in AC D.C.?
There's another indoor game coming our way next Saturday. For those playing, please be considerate to your teammates and EEEEE-zee on the turkey on Thursday, huh? Most of you will be gathering with family this week. I'm driving down to N.C. on Wednesday. Please be safe and cherish your time with loved ones. Happy Thanksgiving, folks!
No comments:
Post a Comment